Showing posts with label Forgotten churches news series. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Forgotten churches news series. Show all posts

Sunday, April 7, 2019

Holy history behind Prayer Tower Church Of God in Toledo, Ohio explored and reviewed by Mixerr Reviews.

Prayer Tower Church Of God was built and established in 1927 on a 24,024 square foot lot on Parkwood Avenue in the Old West End Historic District. Although the Prayer Tower Church Of God in Toledo, Ohio was built in 1927, roots for this church can be traced back to 1886 when the first Church Of God was established in a meeting house located at Barney Creek in the mountains of eastern Tennessee. (Ref: https://www.churchangel.com/church/Prayer-Tower-Church-Of-God-192676.htm)

Holy Toledo! For some odd reason, Prayer Tower Church Of God has been deemed and has been cited as a public nuisance by the Toledo Municipal Court in April 7, 2003. The Prayer Tower Church Of God has failed to abate public nuisance. The Toledo Municipal Court has placed warrant blocks against Prayer Tower Church Of God. (Ref: https://www.toledohousingcourt.org/warrants/)

Prayer Tower Church Of God was abandoned for whatever reason in 2005. The church became abandoned and vacant. Surprisingly the lawn was mowed and exteriors were in good physical condition.


In late 2006, Prayer Tower Church Of God was stripped of its precious copper metals by scrappers. Metals such as copper and aluminum are hot commodities. Copper piping and tubing were stolen from this church by criminals. An air conditioner unit was stolen.

"They're stealing it all, especially if it's not fastened," Toledo police Sgt. Chris Delaney said.The City of Toledo deemed Prayer Tower Church Of God as a vacant church. (Ref: https://www.toledoblade.com/local/police-fire/2006/08/11/High-prices-for-metals-make-theft-lucrative/stories/200608110080)

In May 11, 2008, Prayer Tower Church of God in Christ was burglarized of its metal shelving and air conditioners again by scrappers. Air conditioner units were takes off of walls. (Ref: https://www.toledoblade.com/frontpage/2008/05/12/Today-s-log.html)


Today the church is now for sale and vacant. The property is zoned office/commercial. Prayer Tower Church Of God has been on the market since 2006. According to loopnet, the building needs some work. (Ref: https://www.loopnet.com/Listing/16734182/2484-Parkwood-Toledo-OH/?MPID=Qh85ac46A&SRID=&tab=Sale-Lease&PgCxtGuid=1e0989b2-fe47-42ee-9f1f-ee1c8bb3c58b&PgCxtFLKey=&PgCxtCurFLKey=PropertyRecord&PgCxtDir=Down)

Prayer Tower Church Of God is located at 2484 Parkwood Avenue, Toledo, Ohio, US 43620.

History of New Sweden Road Church aka New Sweden Methodist Church in Manor, Texas.

New Sweden Road Church aka New Sweden Methodist Church is one of the forgotten churches of Manor and Travis County. Not too much else is known about New Sweden School during its activity as a church. Mixerr Reviews explores the history of New Sweden Road Church in this news article.


A small settlement called New Sweden, Texas (New Sweden, TX) decided to replace their old church building in 1915. The old church building being replaced was the New Sweden Road Church aka New Sweden Methodist Church. Services were held in the New Sweden Lutheran Church on New Sweden Church Road during construction of a church building.

In 1916, a church building was constructed at the site of 12177 New Sweden Church Road in the New Sweden community and settlement of Manor, Texas New Sweden Church Road in Manor, Texas. The church was a bright yellow colored building located west of New Sweden Lutheran Church. New Sweden Road Church served the near the New Sweden community and settlement along with Manor & Manda.

In 1942, the Austin American-Statesman newspaper credited and condemned Henry Munson, Albert Munson, Victor Bengston, Martin Anderson, Albin Holmburg, and Edwin Berggren as active honorary pallbearers from New Sweden Lutheran Church. They were active in church services and the New Sweden School Board as well as Manda School Board. They served on the Board of Deacons of the Church.

From a February 26, 1933 radio program ran by Texas Extended School and Community Health Education Program for New Sweden School states the following.: “The first pupil school in this community was held in the old New Sweden Lutheran Church (the church that was is where the cemetery is now at FM 973 and New Sweden Church Road)…… the present two room school was erected in the summer and fall of 1915…. this building was made possible by a bond issue voted by the community in the spring of that year.”

In 1960, church attendance was 25 churchgoers every Sunday. Throughout the 1960s, church attendance was 25 to 35 churchgoers. Religious services were held at this church. This church also a community center.


New Sweden Road Church (New Sweden Methodist Church) was never really a financial success. Money was always tight for this church. Church attendance was 25 to 35 churchgoers every Sunday. Although attendance for New Sweden Road Church was never very high, their attendance rate was 25 to 35 churchgoers every Sunday.

Church attendance was rather low as the church was never popular with the community due to the fact that the more success and prominent New Sweden Lutheran Church had more attendees using their facilities up to the road.

So New Sweden Road Church closed in 1986 thus being coming vacant. New Sweden Road Church was left abandoned in 1988. The bright yellow colored building of New Sweden Road Church collapsed even further into the ground after years of vacancy in 2018.

New Sweden Road Church was located at 12177 New Sweden Church Road, Manor, Texas, US 78653. Postal address for New Sweden Road Church was 12178 New Sweden Church Road, Manor, Texas, US 78651.

Wednesday, March 20, 2019

Holy history behind Prayer Tower Church Of God in Toledo, Ohio explored.

Prayer Tower Church Of God was built and established in 1927 on a 24,024 square foot lot on Parkwood Avenue in the Old West End Historic District. Although the Prayer Tower Church Of God in Toledo, Ohio was built in 1927, roots for this church can be traced back to 1886 when the first Church Of God was established in a meeting house located at Barney Creek in the mountains of eastern Tennessee. (Ref: https://www.churchangel.com/church/Prayer-Tower-Church-Of-God-192676.htm)

Holy Toledo! For some odd reason, Prayer Tower Church Of God has been deemed and has been cited as a public nuisance by the Toledo Municipal Court in April 7, 2003. The Prayer Tower Church Of God has failed to abate public nuisance. The Toledo Municipal Court has placed warrant blocks against Prayer Tower Church Of God. (Ref: https://www.toledohousingcourt.org/warrants/) 

Prayer Tower Church Of God was abandoned for whatever reason in 2005. The church became abandoned and vacant. Surprisingly the lawn was mowed and exteriors were in good physical condition.

In late 2006, Prayer Tower Church Of God was stripped of its precious copper metals by scrappers. Metals such as copper and aluminum are hot commodities. Copper piping and tubing were stolen from this church by criminals. An air conditioner unit was stolen. "They're stealing it all, especially if it's not fastened," Toledo police Sgt. Chris Delaney said.The City of Toledo deemed Prayer Tower Church Of God as a vacant church. (Ref: https://www.toledoblade.com/local/police-fire/2006/08/11/High-prices-for-metals-make-theft-lucrative/stories/200608110080)

In May 11, 2008, Prayer Tower Church of God in Christ was burglarized of its metal shelving and air conditioners again by scrappers. Air conditioner units were takes off of walls. (Ref: https://www.toledoblade.com/frontpage/2008/05/12/Today-s-log.html)

Today the church is now for sale and vacant. The property is zoned office/commercial. Prayer Tower Church Of God has been on the market since 2006. According to loopnet, the building needs some work. (Ref: https://www.loopnet.com/Listing/16734182/2484-Parkwood-Toledo-OH/?MPID=Qh85ac46A&SRID=&tab=Sale-Lease&PgCxtGuid=1e0989b2-fe47-42ee-9f1f-ee1c8bb3c58b&PgCxtFLKey=&PgCxtCurFLKey=PropertyRecord&PgCxtDir=Down)

Prayer Tower Church Of God is located at 2484 Parkwood Avenue, Toledo, Ohio, US 43620.

Sunday, February 24, 2019

Bethlehem Temple Of Inkster deemed an eyesore.

A former church called Bethlehem Temple Of Inkster in Inkster, Michigan is being deemed an eyesore due to it being abandoned for a number of years. Many say the church should be torn down. The church is an old brick building with broken windows everywhere. Residents were about the safety of children and predators that could very easily gain access inside.

Most of the interior has been vandalized and is in need of significant repair. Many windows are broken or boarded up. Inside wooden planks and plywood are scattered everywhere. A sanctuary inside the fellowship hall of this church which seats 400 people has been vandalized beyond what the eye can see or believe.

However the City of Inkster believes this old church building has many potential uses once cleaned up and restored. This property had owned by a bank since 2014. The City of Inkster would like the fellowship hall and sanctuary to be refurbished.

The former Bethlehem Temple Of Inkster is located at 26100 Annapolis Street, Inkster, Michigan, US 48141.

Sunday, February 10, 2019

History behind Beckwith School in Flint, Michigan.

Beckwith School is one of many schools in Flint, Michigan that have been forgotten and faded away with time. The Beckwith School itself served as one of the many early educational institutions of Flint, Michigan along with many others. Not much is known about the Beckwith School itself.


Beckwith School began its life in Flint, Michigan in 1896 as a single story house. This single story house was a one-room school where 1st grade through 6th grade were taught. At that time, Beckwith School was a 1-6 school. (7th grade was added later.) After students completed 6th grade, students were bussed into Flint to attend Flint Community Schools. Westwood Heights School District (Westwood Heights Schools) operated the school from 1896 to 2001.

Beckwith School had its own school district called Beckwith School District which it operated on. The school district was never well off financially. So they relied on Westwood Heights School District and Flint Community Schools for help.

1920 is Beckwith School moved to location on Clio Avenue between Carpenter Road and Pierson Road. 7th grade was added in 1920. School was taught in a two story house this time as opposed to a one story house. After students completed 6th grade and 7th grade, students transferred over to Flint Community Schools to attend Flint Central High School.

During the 1931 is when Westwood Heights School District, Beckwith School District, and Flint Community Schools had an agreement to pay the tuition of the students attending high school at Flint Central High School. Not many school districts could not pay the tuition of their high school students. Especially the rural school districts. That had meant many students didn’t get a chance to go to high school,


In 1947, Beckwith School moved to a different location on Ridgeway Avenue near the intersection of Doran Street & Ridgeway Avenue. This building was a single story red and brown brick building with a black and brown roof. For the most part, the color of the roof was black. 1950 is when Beckwith School became a K-8 school. Beckwith School became Beckwith Elementary School.

Students began attending Beecher High School operated by the Beecher Community School District in Beecher, Michigan in 1952. After 8th grade is when students transferred over to Beecher Schools to attend Beecher High School.

Beckwith School and its school district merged into Westwood Heights School District in 1957. This left Westwood Heights School District to operate Beckwith School as an elementary school for students in grades 1 through 6.

For whatever reason, 1974 is the year when Beckwith School closed. This left the school to be abandoned. Westwood Heights School District began searching for tenants they could lease from. Luck came their way in 1976. Genesee Christian School became the first tenant to lease from Beckwith School. Genesee Christian School leased quarters in the former Beckwith School in 1976. At that time, the 2-year-old school had about 100 students.


In 1987, Genesee Christian School had relocated to a bigger space thus leaving the school vacant again for the second time. Westwood Heights School District made no improvements to the building during that time.

In 1989 during the 1988-1989 fiscal year, Beckwith School burned down in a fire. The cause of the fire left just a part of the building standing and the basement was left open. That fire left the basement exposed. However the exact cause of the fire remains unknown.

1991 is when Beckwith School was demolished. The parking lot was repaved over with cement. The asphalt has since been covered up.

Beckwith School was located at Ridgeway Avenue, Flint, Michigan, US 48504.

Monday, December 31, 2018

History behind King Academy of Inkster, Michigan explored.

Not much history is known about King Academy. However King Academy was one of the many abandoned schools in Inkster, Michigan. This new article will explore some history and will shed some light on this school.

King Academy served as a private school from 1997 to 2005. King Academy operated a charter school for students in Kindergarten through 6th grade. It was located next to the former Blanchette Junior High School aka Blanchette Middle School which Inkster Public Schools operated.


12 acres of land were acquired on Henry Ruff Road in 1990 by Pentecostal Temple Church of God in Christ. Inkster Christian Academy and Pentecostal Temple Day Care were its firsts tenant to own the property. This building was built as a $2.5 million educational facility. Construction was completed in 1991. (Ref: http://ptchurch.net/history/)

In 1996, Sister Karen Corner came up with a written proposal for a charter school. Her proposal was brought to Inkster Public Schools. Pentecostal Temple Church of God in Christ sold the building to King Academy for a charter school in 1997.

In 1997, Pastor King facilitated the award of a charter school from the Inkster Public Schools to operate King Academy. King Academy opened its doors in September 1997. 105 students attended during the 1997-1998 school year and 221 students during the 1998-1999 school year. The church has benefited greatly from this venture. (Ref: https://www.mackinac.org/2984)

King Academy provided multiple educational opportunities such as computer classes and summer programs. Its parental involvement was very high thanks to the parent-teacher cooperatives. King Academy attracted students from Inkster Public Schools. (Ref: http://ptchurch.net/history/)

King Academy served 154 students in grades Kindergarden through 6 in 2005. 2005 was the last year King Academy would operate under. 98% of the student body were black during that time, which was higher than the Michigan state average of 32%. King Academy closed in 2005. Declining enrollment is what led this particular charter school to close. Pentecostal Temple Church of God in Christ purchased King Academy in 2005. The sale was finalized in the year of 2006. (Ref: https://www.publicschoolreview.com/king-academy-profile)

Wayne-Westland Community Schools acquired the building from Pentecostal Temple Church of God in Christ in July 2013 after finding out the church was neglecting their maintenance duties. Most of the building was not up to code or city standards. When Wayne-Westland Community Schools received the building, it was already in very rough shape. The building deteriorated further due to the harsh winter climate every year.

Today King Academy is abandoned. Illegal dumping has taken place at this site promoting the City of Inkster to fine and penalize its current owners. Many of its windows are boarded up with plywood. However that has not kept away vandalism and theft. Pentecostal Temple Church of God in Christ no longer owns the building or its property. Today Wayne-Westland Community Schools owns the building and its property.

Neighbors complain the building is an eyesore and want it removed. Many neighbors complain that City of Inkster lets abandoned buildings stay around for too long such as this one and want it gone.


King Academy is located at 1615 Henry Ruff Road, Inkster, Michigan, US 48141.

Sunday, December 23, 2018

History of Beckwith School in Flint, Michigan revisited.

Beckwith School is one of many schools in Flint, Michigan that have been forgotten and faded away with time. The Beckwith School itself served as one of the many early educational institutions of Flint, Michigan along with many others. Not much is known about the Beckwith School itself.


Beckwith School began its life in Flint, Michigan in 1896 as a single story house. This single story house was a one-room school where 1st grade through 6th grade were taught. At that time, Beckwith School was a 1-6 school. 7th grade was added later. After students completed 6th grade, students were bussed into Flint to attend Flint Community Schools. Westwood Heights School District (Westwood Heights Schools) operated the school from 1896 to 2001.

Beckwith School had its own school district called Beckwith School District which it operated on. The school district was never well off financially. So they relied on Westwood Heights School District and Flint Community Schools for help.

1920 is Beckwith School moved to location on Clio Avenue between Carpenter Road and Pierson Road. 7th grade was added in 1920. School was taught in a two story house this time as opposed to a one story house. After students completed 6th grade and 7th grade, students transferred over to Flint Community Schools to attend Flint Central High School.

During the 1931 is when Westwood Heights School District, Beckwith School District, and Flint Community Schools had an agreement to pay the tuition of the students attending high school at Flint Central High School. Not many school districts could not pay the tuition of their high school students. Especially the rural school districts. That had meant many students didn’t get a chance to go to high school,

In 1950, Beckwith School moved to a different location on Ridgeway Avenue near the intersection of Doran Street & Ridgeway Avenue. This building was a single story red and brown brick building with a black and brown roof. For the most part, the color of the roof was black though. 1950 is when Beckwith School became a K-8 school. Beckwith School became Beckwith Elementary School.

Students began attending Beecher High School operated by the Beecher Community School District in Beecher, Michigan in 1952. After 8th grade is when students transferred over to Beecher Schools to attend Beecher High School.

Beckwith School and its school district merged into Westwood Heights School District in 1957. This left Westwood Heights School District to operate Beckwith School as an elementary school for students in grades 1 through 6.

Genesee Christian School once leased quarters in the former Beckwith School in 1976. At that time, the 2-year-old school had about 100 students. In 1997, Genesee Christian School had relocated thus leaving the school vacant.

2001 is when Beckwith School was demolished. The parking lot was repaved over with cement. The asphalt has been covered up.

Beckwith School was located at Ridgeway Avenue, Flint, Michigan, US 48504.

Monday, November 12, 2018

History of Brewton Springs School in Austin, Texas rehashed.

Brewton Springs School was one of the many forgotten educational institutions of Austin/Travis County that have been long forgotten. In fact, Brewton Springs School was one of the many Travis County rural schools. As a school, Brewton Springs School operated from 1879 to 1950. Brewton Springs School was devoted to education.

Brewton Springs School was also called Bruton Springs School which that school was sometimes referred to as. Brewton Springs School went under several names over the years as its time operating as a school such as Snuff Box School, Snuff Box, and Bruton Springs School.


Brewton Springs School was established in 1879 as a 1-12 school which taught grades 1 through 12. School was taught in an old picket house located on the Allen Farm taught by Miss Annie Gambee. Miss Annie Gambee was the first teacher. Students sat on benches made of elm logs. Each bench furnished seats for 5 to 6 students. Its earliest school trustees were Herbert H. Allen, Joe Hutson, and Pate Patterson.

The school was granted its own school district in 1879. Although Brewton Springs School was within bounds of present day Eanes ISD boundaries, Brewton Springs School had its own school district called School District #50 that was not connected with Eanes School or to the Eanes School District #48 (now known as Eanes ISD) at that time.

Brewton Springs School was a completely autonomous school operated as cited in the book Eanes: Portrait of a Community. Brewton Springs School instead operated as a “county school” under Travis County Public Schools for the Travis County Common School District.

(Ref: Eanes: Portrait of a Community, Linda Vance, 1986)
(Ref: Eanes: A History of the School and Community, Linda Vance, 1976)


In 1881, the first school was built as a 15’ x 10’ foot box square building designed as a one-room schoolhouse located on the Jim Brewton farm. Hence the name Brewton Springs. The school only had one door. By 1881 Brewton Springs School had county funding and state funding allocated towards the school.
The old picket house reverted back to the Allen Farm in 1881 as part of their agreement in terms of ownership. No deeds were created. The school district gave the house back to Jack Allen.

The architectural design of the school building was built as a snuff box. Because the school was shaped similarly to a snuff box, students called the school “Snuff Box School”. However the name Snuff Box did not derive from the architecture of the school building itself.

Brewton Springs School was called the Snuff Box School during the 19th century and early to middle 20th century because so many of its students chewed tobacco and dipped snuff. That is how the name Snuff Box came about. (Ref: Lone Star Travel Guide to Texas Hill County, 2011)

Brewton Springs School was located east of Bee Cave and west of Cuernavaca Drive near Patterson Road less than 0.2 miles of the junction of Cuernavaca Drive & FM 2244. The roads were unpaved.

During its earliest years when tax funds ran low and there was not enough money to pay a teacher, students from Brewton Springs School attended school at Bee Caves School, Teck School, Cox Springs School, and Eanes School. It was only on occasion that Brewton Springs School students were sent to Bee Cave to attend the Bee Cave School.

In 1888, the State of Texas closed down Brewton Springs School because when tax funds ran low, there was not enough money to pay a teacher or 2 teachers. This was only temporary. Brewton Springs School students were sent to Bee Cave to attend the Bee Cave School until 1890. The school reopened in 1890. This time the school had 3 teachers. Enrollment was 80 students. A majority of its students were white.

A split caused by a change and shift in scholastics resulting in a small house to be built at Walnut Springs in the Walnut Springs Baptist Church. 2 houses in the school district proved to be too many. School terms were split. One term was taught half at one house and half at the other. So the school moved back to the Allen farm and away from the Jim Brewton farm. Brewton Springs School moved a series of several times during its history throughout the 19th century and 20th century.

1892 is when the Walnut Springs Baptist Church house had burned. It is unclear how the school burned. It could have been antics by local children or its students. This fire had no documentation or produced leads as to who had done it. (Ref: The Defender, 1936)

Around 1896 is when Brewton Springs School was moved to the Thomas Riley Place. At this point the school moved several times. The school district hired 3 more teachers to teach at the school.
(Ref: Eanes: Portrait of a Community, Linda Vance, 1986)
(Ref: Eanes: A History of the School and Community, Linda Vance, 1976)


Brewton Springs School was moved again in 1904. During the same year, the school was remodeled with more lumber from leftover donations. Benches were donated. 14 teachers were hired throughout the 1904-1905 school term. 34 students attended this school during the 1904-1905 school term.

Green Hudson owned a ranch and gave 5 acres of land for a school in 1922. It was at this that Brewton Springs School was moved onto Patterson Road (then Patterson Lane) near Patterson Ranch. Edna Patterson donated .02 acres of land to the school. Brewton Springs School was located on top of a hill near Patterson Ranch. Brewton Springs School was an all white school with a 97% white/caucasian student population. 2% of the student population was Mexican (Hispanic).

Brewton Springs School was a one-room schoolhouse when it was located on top of a hill near Patterson Ranch on Patterson Road. Sometime in the 1920s is when the school building was later expanded to become a two-room schoolhouse.

Even in the 1920s when most schools were 1-8 schools, Brewton Springs School was a 1-12 school unlike Eanes School were school stopped at 7th grade. From the 1920s on, Eanes School did not go beyond the 7th grade. The 1920s is when Eanes School began changing its scholastics by primarily teaching elementary school grades.

(Ref: Eanes: A History of the School and Community, Linda Vance, 1976)
(Ref: Eanes: Portrait of a Community, Linda Vance, 1986)

(From the 1920s on, Eanes School did not go beyond the 7th grade. The 1920s is when Eanes School began changing its scholastics by primarily teaching elementary school grades. 8th grade students were bussed to Allan Junior High School. Although Eanes School did not mainly go beyond the 7th grade, Eanes School still taught middle school students and high school students until 1943. After 1943, high school students attended Austin High School and Allan High School. Middle school students attended Allan Junior High School and later O. Henry Middle School. Some had remained at Eanes School as the school had taught middle school grades until 1950. Eanes ISD would continue busing its high school students to Austin ISD until 1967.)


1936 is when the school district began making plans to tear down and rebuild the then-current Brewton Springs School building. Meetings were held with the Superintendent of Travis County Public Schools. It was decided that the old log cabin school be sold to land owner Homer Teague.

In 1937, the school was torn down and rebuilt on John Teague’s property located on FM 2244 (Bee Cave Road) near Cuernavaca Drive by the Teague land. John Teague and Homer Teague moved into the old schoolhouse afterwards. The other old log cabin schoolhouse remained as a private residence on the Teague land.

While the school was being moved, classes were held in Watson Springs Baptist Church. Watson Springs Baptist Church was a single-room frame church. The church was also nicknamed “Snuff Box Church” and “Snuff Box Baptist Church” because members of the congregation used to spit tobacco juice out of the window during services. (Ref: Eanes: Portrait of a Community, Linda Vance, 1986)

By 1938, Brewton Springs School was yet again a fully functioning school with a small school district overseen by Travis County Common School District aka Travis County Public Schools. Brewton Springs School hardly ever had over 100 students. School was the only place and way students were able to take a bath and take care personal hygiene among other needs. A water well was established.


In 1948, Brewton Springs School began attempting to merge and consolidate into Eanes School District #48. Some Brewton Springs School students began attending the Eanes School. Eanes School District then operated both Eanes School and Brewton Springs School. At the time Eanes School was a 1-9 school which educated students in grades 1 through 9. (Ref: Eanes: A History of the School and Community, Linda Vance, 1976)

During that time only white families resided in the Eanes School District. Brewton Springs School was an all white school with a 100% white/caucasian student population as was Eanes School and Eanes Elementary School.

In 1949, both Brewton Springs School and its school district were consolidated into Eanes ISD under Gilmer-Aiken Law. Gilmer-Aiken Law consolidated many rural school districts, including Brewton Springs & Bee Cave, had reformed many Texas public schools. Eanes School students who wanted to continue their education past 9th grade either went to Brewton Springs School or to Allan Junior High School and Austin High School in Austin Public Schools (now Austin ISD).

However Brewton Springs School continued to operate under Eanes ISD until 1950. Brewton Springs School still operated as a 1-12 school.

(Ref: Eanes: Portrait of a Community, Linda Vance, 1986)
(Ref: EISD Monthly Newsletter, Eanes School 50 Years Ago, April 1984)


1950 was the year the Travis County Schools Superintendent and State of Texas (TEA) closed down Brewton Springs School and its school district during the 1950-1951 school year. The school district itself was consolidated and abolished during the same year. Brewton Springs School shut down due to lack of enrollment. (Ref: Eanes: A History of the School and Community, Linda Vance, 1976)

Brewton Springs School was shut down by the State of Texas (TEA) due to Gilmer-Aiken Law after Bill No. 116 of the 50th legislature was passed in 1950. After Brewton Springs School shut down, its students were transferred to Eanes School. Eanes School then had 80 students. A third room to the two-room rock building of Eanes School was constructed in the same year to relieve overcrowding. Classes were now held at the Eanes School. (Ref: Eanes: A History of the School and Community, Linda Vance, 1976)

Brewton Springs School students were merged with the Eanes School and some were sent to Bee Cave School. Brewton Springs School students were sent to both Cox Springs School, Dripping Springs School, and Lago Vista School as well.

In 1950, Eanes went from being a 1-9 school that educated students in grades 1 through 9 to a 1-6 where students in grades 1 through 6 were educated. The school district surrounding Eanes School (the now Eanes Elementary School) and Brewton Springs School was considered a common school district that sent its high school students to Austin ISD. (Ref: Eanes: Portrait of a Community, Linda Vance, 1986)

1950 was the year Homer Teague and his two sons, Robert Teague and Jackson Teague, lived in the building under rough conditions. Winters and summers inside the home proved to be brutal. They would live there until they moved in 1960.

When Brewton Springs School closed in 1950, TEA condemned the school building and the water well. The water well plugged and later destroyed.


In 1960, the building was abandoned on the Teague Land next to Commons Ford Ranch. Overtime the small building became covered with vegetation. It is unknown and unclear whether or not anyone else besides the Teague family lived in the original Brewton Springs School building after consolidation with Eanes ISD whereas the other school building became a private residence.

In 1985, Robert Teague gained ownership of the property from a handwritten gift deed produced in 1942 by the wife of Homer Teague.

In 1988, the old log cabin building of Brewton Springs School was moved to the Commons Ford Metropolitan Park in the Cuernavaca neighborhood by Robert Teague. Robert Teague donated Brewton Springs School to the City of Austin as an attempt of historic preservation. No known further work or renovations were done or made to the old Brewton Springs School building after 1988.

By 1990, the former school building fell victim to rural decay. Its windows were boarded up with plywood. No other known uses were made or have been documented and recorded.

Today the 5th Brewton Springs School building sits at the entrance of Commons Ford Metropolitan Park. Its windows are boarded up with plywood. A chimney was added to the building as an extra. It is highly possible that Homer Teague built the chimney.


Although the original school building of Brewton Springs School may no longer be extant or the memories of the Brewton Springs School may have been forgotten, Brewton Springs lives on as a historic name under the street name of Bruton Springs Road located in the Cuernavaca neighborhood.

Brewton Springs School was located near FM 2244 & Cuernavaca Drive, Austin, Texas, US 78733. Brewton Springs School is now located at 614 North Commons Ford Road, Austin, Texas US 78733.

Friday, November 2, 2018

Exploring St. Margaret Mary Church in Detroit, Michigan.

Bishop Gallagher was eager to establish churches in areas that were developing. Bishop Gallagher pushed the congregation to have another church built. Father John Koelzer was asked to start a sister parish to St. Bernard's Church in the developing area to the north of it, a parish that would become St. Margaret Mary Church. (Ref: Terre Haute Tribune, July 9, 1977)

St. Margaret Mary was established in 1923 as a Catholic church.. The church was both designed by Donaldson & Meier as a brick building. Father Koelzer remained as pastor of St. Margaret Mary Church until 1938. (Ref: Seasons of Grace: A History of the Catholic Archdiocese of Detroit)

St. Margaret Mary Church was built as a square C-shape building in similar for to a U-shape/horseshoe building. St. Margaret Mary Church is an example of Spanish Colonial style building revival. The building itself was 2 story a building measuring at 80 feet x 120 feet.

Many Italians and Sicilians made up the congregation of St. Margaret Mary Church. Hence the huge Italian-American population. (Ref: Catholic Churches of Detroit)

St. Margaret Mary Church closed in 1970 due to the parish shrinking. The parish had shrunk even further to a mere 83 members by then. The building was due for many costly repairs. The church was abandoned in 1973. (Ref: http://www.bishopgallagher.org/2012/02/heritage-lost-st-margaret-mary-school-detroit.html)

The church itself became a victim of arson sometime in 2012. Arson damage prevented the members from using the building anymore after the year 2012 and has been vacant ever since. Windows were boarded up tightly with plywood. (Ref: https://www.nailhed.com/2015/07/wherever-two-or-three-are-gathered-in.html)

St. Margaret Mary Church is located at 5095 Lemay Street, Detroit, Michigan, US 48213.

Wednesday, October 31, 2018

Exploring St. Margaret Mary Church and St. Margaret Mary Parochial School in Detroit, Michigan.

Bishop Gallagher was eager to establish churches in areas that were developing. Bishop Gallagher pushed the congregation to have another church built. Father John Koelzer was asked to start a sister parish to St. Bernard's Church in the developing area to the north of it, a parish that would become St. Margaret Mary Church. (Ref: Terre Haute Tribune, July 9, 1977)

St. Margaret Mary was established as a church and parochial school in 1923. The church and school were both designed by Donaldson & Meier. St. Margaret Mary Parochial School was built in 1923 as a brick building. St. Margaret Mary Parochial School educated students in grades 1 through 8 and St. Margaret Mary Church was a Catholic church. Father Koelzer remained as pastor of St. Margaret Mary Church until 1938. (Ref: Seasons of Grace: A History of the Catholic Archdiocese of Detroit)

St. Margaret Mary Church was built as a square C-shape building in similar for to a U-shape/horseshoe building. St. Margaret Mary Church is an example of Spanish Colonial style building revival. The building itself was 2 story a building measuring at 80 feet x 120 feet.

Many Italians and Sicilians made up the congregation of St. Margaret Mary Church. Hence the huge Italian-American population. (Ref: Catholic Churches of Detroit)

St. Margaret Mary Church closed in 1970 due to the parish shrinking. The parish had shrunk even further to a mere 83 members by then. The building was due for many costly repairs. The church was abandoned in 1973. (Ref: http://www.bishopgallagher.org/2012/02/heritage-lost-st-margaret-mary-school-detroit.html)

The church itself became a victim of arson sometime in 2012. Arson damage prevented the members from using the building anymore after the year 2012 and has been vacant ever since. Windows were boarded up tightly with plywood. (Ref: https://www.nailhed.com/2015/07/wherever-two-or-three-are-gathered-in.html)

St. Margaret Mary Church and St. Margaret Mary Parochial School is located at 5095 Lemay Street, Detroit, Michigan, US 48213.


*St. Margaret Mary Church and St. Margaret Mary Parochial School was also known as St. Margaret Mary Church and Parochial School.

Sunday, October 7, 2018

History of Oak Island School in San Antonio, Texas explored.

Oak Island School is one of the many forgotten schools of San Antonio and Bexar County. The school itself has somewhat of an interesting history.


Oak Island School was established in 1852 inside a church called Oak Island Methodist Church (then Oak Island Methodist Episcopal Church) organized by Reverend John Wesley DeVilbiss. The school and church were located on Oak Island Drive near where Loop 1604 and Devilbliss Lane intersect. Official provisions for this school had been instituted in 1854. 2 more teachers were hired in 1856. (Ref: Fehrenbach 1968:303)

Oak Island School was a “field school” - a school which families had established by providing a building and hiring a teacher. Most rural schools in San Antonio and Bexar County had “field schools”. At this time Oak Island School was a rural school which educated students in grades 1 through 8.

(Ref: Chipped Stone and Adobe: A Cultural Resources Assessment of the Proposed Applewhite Reservoir, Bexar County, Texas)
(Ref: http://oakislandchurch.org/history)

However it was not until 1868 did the Texas State Constitution call for a centralized state public school system. That is when Oak Island School began receiving state funding. Oak Island School was still located in the church. Classes for school were held in Oak Island Methodist Church for a while until a school could be built.


Around 1880 is when a single story wooden-frame schoolhouse was built to house the Oak Island School. This wooden-frame building was located west of Oak Island Methodist Church on Oak Island Drive.

In 1918, it was decided the old school needed to be replaced with a new 3 room school. By then Oak Island School was operated as a Bexar County School and was financed by the county. Bexar County was responsible for the finances of Oak Island School. (Ref: http://oakislandchurch.org/history)

The summer of 1919 is when Oak Island School received a new school building. Its new school building was built at a cost of $5,000. This building was a c-shaped building. (Ref: San Antonio Evening News, Page 12, Wednesday, June 11, 1919)

Oak Island School educated students in grades 1 through 10 during the 1920s. When students graduated from this school, they would attend high school in Somerset or Poteet. Some students went to Brackenridge High School and South San Antonio High School in San Antonio.

In 1926, the new school building was painted white. Extra half windows were placed above the present window's on the south of each classroom in order to give sufficient light. (Ref: Sikeston Herald, Page 11, Thursday, May 18, 1939)

Oak Island School was consolidated into Somerset ISD in 1950. The community voted to consolidate their school with Somerset which resulted in the school being shut down immediately. Oak Island School sat vacant for many years with no purpose.

Overtime the school needed much repair work done. The church could not afford to keep the school building due to maintenance costs which led to the building being torn down. Oak Island School was demolished in 1970. No trace remains of the school today.

The teacherage was rented and leased for a while but the church could not afford to maintain it. So it was sold by the church to a private owner and moved onto a private residence. (Ref: http://oakislandchurch.org/history)


Oak Island School was located near Devilbliss Lane & Oak Island Drive, San Antonio, Texas, US 78624.

Friday, August 17, 2018

Remembering the Colorado Mexican School.

Colorado Mexican School is one of the many forgotten schools and institutions of Austin and Del Valle that have faded away with time and from people's memories. This news article explains the history behind Colorado Mexican School


The Colorado Mexican School was constructed in 1934 as a one-room  school facing south of the Colorado White School (Colorado School). The Colorado Mexican School was built on Old Del Valle Road near US 183 & Highway 71. Blacks student had sometimes attended the Colorado Mexican School. The school educated students in grades 1 through 7.

Average daily attendance was 26 to 30 students on daily basis. The attendance rate still remained low as it historically was and has been. Almost 100 students attended this school.

Prior to the opening of Colorado Mexican School, Hispanic students attended the Colorado White School before a separate school for Hispanics became available. Hispanic students were not required to attend school. Hispanic students had either attended the negro schools or white schools.

Of course racial segregation was implemented by law in Texas and southern United States, so schools were separated by race. Separate schools were built for white, black, and Hispanic students. Black students attended separate schools from white students. White students attended separate schools from black students. That is the reason why the "Colorado White School", "Colorado Mexican School", and "Colorado Negro School" existed.

Although the Colorado School had an Austin address, it served students from the communities of Del Valle, Austin, Montopolis, Bergstrom Village, Glenbrook, and Colton.


By the 1940s, the Colorado White School and Colorado Mexican School received indoor plumbing with 2 separate toilets inside the brick building. Water pipes were upgraded and fixed.

The Colorado Mexican School eventually became combined into one school by 1942. Roof replacement was installed in the same year. The Colorado Mexican School had a daily attendance rate of 100 students in 1944. 100 students was the average on a daily basis. A huge increase from the 1930s attendance rate. The rate remained the same even in 1945.

By the late 1940s, the segregated Colorado Mexican School experienced extreme overcrowding. Colorado Common School District was 1 of 4 school districts listed as a defendant in the 1948 court case of Delgado v. Bastrop ISD. Colorado School was listed as a prime example of racial segregation in the lawsuit against the state of Texas. LULAC brought suit against several school districts for denying Hispanic students the use of school facilities and educational services. The suit claimed Hispanic students were separated and segregated from white students even though under state law they were considered "White" or "Caucasian".

Although US Court found both the Colorado Mexican School and Colorado Common School District to be operating within the terms of the decree, overcrowding of the school witnessed would contradict the provision for “equal school instruction.”

By the late end of 1948, the school was closed due to overcrowding conditions. Travis County Schools Superintendent Irving W. Popham described conditions at Colorado Mexican School as “the worst Travis County has ever known.” Travis County Schools, Austin Independent School District (then Austin Public Schools which is now known as Austin ISD) and Colorado Common School District deemed the Colorado School unfit and inadequate for a learning environment due to overcrowding from a lack of space and growth in enrollment. Overcrowding was extreme. Travis County government officials determined the Colorado School deemed to be unfit and antiquated.

The Nuestra Senora La Luz Catholic Mission Church in Montopolis offered the use of its chapel for 53 first-grade students. The remaining 40 students stayed at the Colorado Mexican School until the school district finally closed down the school. Its students were shipped to other schools.

From 1948 to 1950, the Colorado Mexican School was used as a community center and church. As part of the land agreement with Travis County and City of Austin, the school was to be zoned as a church and community if in the event the school were to close down due to overcrowding, structural error, or declining enrollment. Colorado School held religious services during operation as a church.

(Ref: Austin American Statesman, Crowded Rural Schools Lack Pioneer Facilities, January 26, 1947)
(Ref: Austin American Statesman, Latin-American school segregation outlawed, June 15, 1948)
(Ref: Handbook of Texas Online, V. Carl Allsup, "Delgado v. Bastrop Isd”)


In 1950, the old Colorado Mexican School was all but abandoned by the school district. Grass was kept untrimmed. Windows and window panels were boarded with thin plywood. Vegetation had sprawled all over.

The Colorado Common School District along with Travis County Schools & TEA were consolidating school districts & schools in Southeastern Travis County in the 1950s in an effort to collect more on property taxes, declining enrollment, and lack of funding. Schools and school districts that were consolidated into Colorado Common School District were Elroy, Creedmoor, Pilot Knob, Dry Creek, Hornsby-Dunlap, Maha, and Garfield.

1950 is also when the Del Valle schools became slowly integrated. Some schools were no longer separated by race or ethnicity.

1952 is the year when the city of Austin began annexing portions of the Colorado Common School District in both Austin and Del Valle. The Colorado Mexican School was within the city limits causing confusion with Austin ISD and Del Valle ISD school district boundaries. Because the Colorado Mexican School was within he Austin city limits, the school district had to find a new location for its own schools.

In 1958, grass vegetation took over the driveways as Colorado Mexican School was totally abandoned. The buildings were still standing by then. 1958 is also the year when the Del Valle schools became integrated. Schools were no longer separated by race or ethnicity. Integration was slow to come to liberal Austin and Del Valle, but it came easy as the racial integration process went smooth with no trouble.

In 1958, Austin Public Schools (Austin Independent School District bka Austin ISD) sold the land to United States Government as the school was located dangerously close in a flight path being near Bergstrom Air Force Base. Davidson tract was located outside the former Bergstrom Air Force Base.

In 1964, the Colorado Mexican School was demolished after years of being abandoned. All that remained in 1965 was a gravel pit located on site of the former Colorado Mexican School. That gravel pits sat out there for years before becoming overgrown by vegetation. All outbuildings have been demolished. No traces of the school or cistern remain today.


Schools such as this one should be preserved as a museum, converted to a dance studio, bank, or revitalized into government offices. This can be listed as an example of priorities placed in the wrong place. Historic preservation should be a secondary priority for a school district.

Something needs to be done to commemorate the Colorado Mexican School as a part the 1948 Federal Court ruling on Delgado v. Bastrop ISD. People don't recognize how LULAC fought for equal school instruction, services, and facilities. Efforts of LULAC also need to be brought to attention.

Colorado Mexican School was located at 1601 Old Del Valle Road, Austin, Texas, US 78742.



*Colorado Common School District was known to Travis County Schools officials and civilians as Colorado Common School District No. 36 or as School District No. 36.
*The Colorado School was simply just called "Colorado School" at one point in history.
*Colorado School had an Austin address despite being zoned to Del Valle ISD.
*Colorado School was adjacent to 2 other schools before the schools became molded into one school called "Colorado School" due mainly to racial integration following 1948. Thus Colorado Mexican School and Colorado Negro School were eventually combined into the Colorado White School.
*Old Del Valle Road was also known as Old Austin-Del Valle Road, Austin-Del Valle Road, and Del Valle Road.

Wednesday, August 15, 2018

History pertaining to the small Colorado School long forgotten revisited.

History about the Colorado School in Austin, Texas has been long forgotten as the Colorado School is one of the many forgotten educational institutions of Austin that have faded away with time. Only longtime Austinites from generations ago may remember the Colorado School located in rural Travis County. Colorado School is one of the many schools in Austin/Travis County that did not receive a Texas Historic Landmark plaque or was revitalized to house school district offices. Colorado School is also historically significant and important because the Colorado School was listed as a defendant in the 1948 court case of Delgado v. Bastrop ISD regarding racial segregation in public schools. That court case declared segregation illegal in Texas public schools.


The Colorado School was one of Del Valle's earliest schools as it was the oldest school in the Del Valle ISD school district at one point in time dating back to 1874. Colorado School was the first school operated by Del Valle ISD. Years of operation for Colorado School ran from 1876 to 1948. The Colorado School itself was located at the present day intersections of US 183 & SH 71 near Austin Bergstrom International Airport (ABIA).

The Colorado Common School District in Austin was established in 1874. A school house was needed. Land where Colorado School was located on land owned by the Martin Family and Andrew M. Davidson. Enoch Martin, Sarah Elizabeth Martin, and Andrew M. Davidson deeded land to S.G. Sneed, Travis County, and the Colorado Common School District for a school house to be built on in the year of 1874 along with land for a city cemetery which would later become the Greenwood Cemetery. 5.6 acres of land were deeded to Colorado Common School District in the same year by F.A. Maxwell and Andrew M. Davidson. Colorado School was located on the Davidson tract named after Andrew M. Davidson.

Martin Family Cemetery had preceded the small school by a couple of years as their cemetery was plotted in 1874. The Colorado School was to be located north of the Martin Family Cemetery as a part of a land agreement with Travis County and City of Austin. Cemeteries called Martin Family Cemetery and Greenwood Cemetery were plotted south of the Colorado School.

A cistern was built in 1875 predating the school but not the cemetery. Water was gathered from a cistern from the years of 1875 to 1895 until the cistern got old and needed replacement. The 1875 cistern was built fairly well under a sturdy foundation.

Building a log cabin school was no easy task. It took a few months for the school to open after construction was completed. The log cabin was built and completed in 1876. Local citizens and several businesses donated wood for a log cabin school to be built. Colorado School was built in to serve as a public school which was operated under Colorado Common School District now known as Del Valle Independent School District bka Del Valle ISD. The Colorado School along with the Colorado Common School District itself were named after the Colorado River.

Colorado School was built as a single story log cabin in 1876. The log cabin School was located near Colorado River adjacent to a large group of live oak trees and a clear spring. The school itself was 12 feet tall at maximum height as the school was only 1 story tall. The school was a one room school. Originally grades 1 through 8 were educated there. Later on, grades 1 through 12 were taught at this school.

Average daily attendance was 26 to 30 students for the Colorado School. Some days 30 students attended school at best. Attendance was never very high due to the agricultural lifestyle. Students had to tend to family farms during harvesting season. Students had to pick cotton and work in the fields.

Students had to use outhouses located not too far away from the school as the Colorado School did not receive indoor plumbing until near mid-20th century. 2 separate outhouses were located outside the Colorado School. The wait to use these facilities was long and time consuming. Some students and teachers simply used the forest that surrounded the area.

Of course racial segregation was implemented by law in Texas and southern United States, so schools were separated by race. Separate schools were built for white, black, and Hispanic students. Black students attended separate schools from white students. White students attended separate schools from black students. That is the reason why the "Colorado White School", "Colorado Mexican School", and "Colorado Negro School" existed. The Colorado Mexican School was built adjacent to the Colorado White School.

Despite being racially segregated, black and white students shared the one room School with Hispanic students. Black students were taught alongside with white students here at this school. Some of the other schools were like this. Hispanic students had either attended the negro schools or white schools. Usually Hispanic students attended both the negro schools or white schools.

A new cistern was built to replace the old cistern in 1895. The school district decided to eventually to drill a new water well in 1895. The well had to be drilled away from the cemeteries for sanitary purposes. So this led to a controversy to where the school district would locate the new water well. Another new water well and a cistern were installed in 1905.


1921 was the year the log cabin school was demolished. In 1921, the Colorado School was built on top of a concrete cement slab foundation that was built over an old graveyard. A single story brick building at a height of 12 feet was constructed in to replace the log cabin school to accommodate growth in enrollment as the log cabin school became overcrowded due to lack of space in classrooms. A sign with the words "Colorado School" had been placed on top of the school painted in a blackish brown color.

The Colorado Mexican School was built next to the Colorado White School in 1934 which eventually became combined into one school. Black students had sometimes attended the Colorado Mexican School. Roof replacement was installed in the same year.

Prior to the Colorado Mexican School operating, Hispanic students attended the Colorado White School before a separate school for Hispanics became available. Hispanic students were not required to attend school. Hispanic students had either attended the negro schools or white schools. The Colorado Negro School was added as an additional building to accompany black students.

An additional room was added to the Colorado School in 1935. A number of additional rooms were later added to be expanded. Average daily attendance was 26 to 30 students on daily basis during the 1930s. But the attendance rate still remained low as it historically was and has been.


By the 1940s, the Colorado School received indoor plumbing with 2 separate toilets inside the brick building. Water pipes were upgraded and fixed.

By the late 1940s, both the Colorado Mexican School, Colorado Negro School, and Colorado White School had experienced extreme overcrowding. Extreme overcrowding was common for schools in the Colorado Common School District such as the Elroy School, the Garfield School, Lamar School, Cloud School, and Popham School unfortunately. The Colorado School had a daily attendance rate of 100 students in 1944. 100 students was the average on a daily basis. A huge increase from the 1930s attendance rate. The rate remained the same even in 1945.

Colorado Common School District was 1 of 4 school districts listed as a defendant in the 1948 court case of Delgado v. Bastrop ISD. Colorado School was listed as a prime example of racial segregation in the lawsuit against the state of Texas. LULAC brought suit against several school districts for denying Hispanic students the use of school facilities and educational services. The suit claimed Hispanic students were separated and segregated from white students even though under state law they were considered "White" or "Caucasian". Although US Court found both the Colorado School and Colorado Common School District to be operating within the terms of the decree, overcrowding of the school witnessed would contradict the provision for “equal school instruction.”

By the late end of 1948, the school was closed due to overcrowding conditions. Travis County Schools Superintendent Irving W. Popham described conditions at Colorado School as “the worst Travis County has ever known.” Travis County Schools, Austin Independent School District (then Austin Public Schools which is now known as Austin ISD) and Colorado Common School District deemed the Colorado School unfit and inadequate for a learning environment due to overcrowding from a lack of space and growth in enrollment. Overcrowding was extreme. Travis County government officials determined the Colorado School deemed to be unfit and antiquated.

From 1948 to 1950, the Colorado School was used as a community center and church. As part of the land agreement with Travis County and City of Austin, the school was to be zoned as a church and community if in the event the school were to close down due to overcrowding, structural error, or declining enrollment. Colorado School held religious services during operation as a church.

When the Colorado School was closed, elementary students attended the Popham School while the junior high students attended Del Valle Junior High School. The high school students had attended Del Valle Senior High School which was later Del Valle Junior-Senior High School which had eventually became Del Valle High School. Other students were sent to Austin ISD schools to relieve overcrowding.


In 1950, the old Colorado School was all but abandoned by the school district as students were being shipped to other schools as part the consolidation into Del Valle ISD on part of Texas Education Agency (TEA) and Colorado Common School District. Grass was kept untrimmed. Windows and window panels were boarded with thin plywood. Vegetation sprawled over Colorado School.

The Colorado Common School District along with Travis County Schools & TEA was consolidating school districts & schools in Southeastern Travis County in the 1950s in an effort to collect more on property taxes, declining enrollment, and lack of funding. Schools and school districts that were consolidated into Colorado Common School District were Elroy, Creedmoor, Pilot Knob, Dry Creek, Hornsby-Dunlap, Maha, and Garfield.

1950 is also when the Del Valle schools became slowly integrated. Some schools were no longer separated by race or ethnicity. Integration was slow to come to liberal Austin and Del Valle, but it came easy as the racial integration process went smooth with no trouble.

1952 is the year when the city of Austin began annexing portions of the Colorado Common School District in both Austin and Del Valle. The Colorado School was within the city limits causing confusion with Austin ISD and Del Valle ISD school district boundaries. Because the Colorado School was within the Austin city limits, the school district had to find a new location for its own schools. Although the Colorado School had an Austin address, it served students from the communities of Del Valle, Austin, Montopolis, Bergstrom Village, Glenbrook, and Colton.

Enrollment stood at 600 students in 1952 for the Colorado Common School District. That created a demand for new schools in Del Valle. The new renovated Popham School was open by then. Del Valle High School and Del Valle Junior High were underway.

In 1958, grass vegetation took over the driveways as the school was totally abandoned. The buildings were still standing by then. 1958 is also the year when the Del Valle schools became integrated. Schools were no longer separated by race or ethnicity. Integration was a smooth process for the large Del Valle school district with no hassle or race riots.

In 1958, Austin Public Schools (now Austin ISD) sold the land to United States Government as the school was located dangerously close in a flight path being so close to Bergstrom Air Force Base. Davidson tract was located outside the former Bergstrom Air Force Base. The Colorado Common School District was renamed the Del Valle Independent School District in 1964.

In 1964, the Colorado School was demolished after years of being abandoned. All that remained in 1965 was a gravel pit located on site of the former Colorado School. That gravel pits sat out there for years before becoming overgrown by vegetation. Outbuildings sat in their positions. All outbuildings have been demolished. A portion of an outbuilding for the Colorado School was added to the Del Valle ISD district offices on Shapard Lane in Del Valle, Texas in 1967 which remains there today. To this day, the school district boundaries for Austin ISD and Del Valle ISD remain chaotic.


Colorado School is one of the many forgotten schools and institutions of Austin & Del Valle that have faded away with time and from people's memories unfortunately. Schools such as this one should be preserved as a museum, converted to a dance studio, bank, or revitalized into government offices. This can be listed as an example of priorities placed in the wrong place. Historic preservation should be a secondary priority for a school district.

Something needs to be done to commemorate the Colorado School as a part the 1948 Federal Court ruling on Delgado v. Bastrop ISD. People don't recognize how LULAC fought for equal school instruction and facilities. Efforts of LULAC also need to be brought to attention.

The old Colorado School is was located at 1601 Old Del Valle Road, Austin, Texas, US 78742.

*Colorado Common School District was known to Travis County Schools officials and civilians as Colorado Common School District No. 36 or as School District No. 36.
*The Colorado School was simply just called "Colorado School" at one point in history.
*Colorado School had an Austin address despite being zoned to Del Valle ISD.
*Colorado School was adjacent to 2 other schools before the schools became molded into one school called "Colorado School" due mainly to racial integration following 1948. Thus Colorado Mexican School and Colorado Negro School were eventually combined into the Colorado White School.
*Old Del Valle Road was also known as Old Austin-Del Valle Road, Austin-Del Valle Road, and Del Valle Road.
*The Martin Family Cemetery preceded the Colorado School.
*Popham School bka Popham Elementary School was built in 1948 to relieve overcrowding from other schools located in the Colorado Common School District. From 1952 to 1953, Popham School went under construction during an extensive renovation period. In 1953 the school was finally open to the public again.



As for the Martin Family Cemetery, the Martin Family Cemetery was plotted and constructed in 1874 by Enoch Martin and Andrew M. Davidson when they deeded land to Travis County for a school to be built on and a city cemetery. Many family members from the Martin Family were buried there. Last recorded burial in the Martin Family Cemetery was Walter Martin in 1909.

The Martin Family Cemetery is now behind a secure fence located southeast of the US 183 & SH 71 intersection near the northwest corner of Austin Bergstrom International Airport (ABIA). Martin Family Cemetery is located 140 feet north of Greenwood Cemetery also. Permission must be obtained to view the Martin Family Cemetery due to Homeland Security restrictions. Homeland Security restrictions require visitors to be escorted by ABIA staff to the site.


Enoch Martin, Andrew M. Davidson, and F.A. Maxwell deeded land to Travis County and City of Austin for another cemetery that was to become a city cemetery in 1907. Other acres were purchased in 1910. This cemetery would eventually become Greenwood Cemetery. Austin-Del Valle Road served as the northeast boundary between separating the Martin Family Cemetery from the Greenwood Cemetery. Martin Family members are also buried in Greenwood Cemetery.

Greenwood Cemetery operates as a public cemetery owned by the City of Austin to this day. ABIA staff and Homeland Security staff patrol both cemeteries on a daily basis. Greenwood Cemetery is located directly south of the Martin Family Cemetery adjacent near ABIA. Both Greenwood Cemetery and Martin Family Cemetery are located at 1927 Old Lockhart Road, Austin, Texas, US 78742.

*Martin Family Cemetery is located near Old Del Valle Road.
*Also Martin Family Cemetery is located less than 1 acre north of Greenwood Cemetery.

Saturday, August 11, 2018

Brewton Springs School when it was the Snuff Box School on Bee Caves Road.

Brewton Springs School was called the Snuff Box School during the 19th century and early to middle 20th century because so many of its students chewed tobacco and dipped snuff. That is how the name Snuff Box came about. The architectural design of the school building was built as a snuff box. Because the school was shaped similarly to a snuff box, students called the school “Snuff Box School”. However the name Snuff Box did not derive from the architecture of the school building itself.


In 1881, the first school was built as a 15’ x 10’ foot box square building designed as a one-room schoolhouse located on the Jim Brewton farm. Hence the name Brewton Springs. The school only had one door. By 1881 Brewton Springs School had county funding and state funding allocated towards the school.

As cited in the book Lone Star Travel Guide to Texas Hill County, Brewton Springs School was also known as Snuff Box School. The Brewton Springs School was located east of Bee Cave. Brewton Springs School was located east of Bee Cave and west of Cuernavaca Drive near Patterson Road less than 0.2 miles of the junction of Cuernavaca Drive & FM 2244.
(Ref: Lone Star Travel Guide to Texas Hill County, 2011)

Even in the 1920s when most schools were 1-8 schools, Brewton Springs School was a 1-12 school unlike Eanes School were school stopped at 7th grade. From the 1920s on, Eanes School did not go beyond the 7th grade. The 1920s is when Eanes School began changing its scholastics by primarily teaching elementary school grades.

[From the 1920s on, Eanes School did not go beyond the 7th grade. The 1920s is when Eanes School began changing its scholastics by primarily teaching elementary school grades. 8th grade students were bussed to Allan Junior High School. Although Eanes School did not go beyond the 7th grade, Eanes School still taught middle school students and high school students until 1943.

After 1943, high school students attended Austin High School and Allan High School. Middle school students attended Allan Junior High School and later O. Henry Middle School. Some had remained at Eanes School as the school had taught middle school grades until 1950. In 1950, Eanes ISD sent its middle school students and high school students to Austin ISD. This would last until 1967.]

The school district surrounding Eanes School (the now Eanes Elementary School) and Brewton Springs School was considered a common school district that sent its high school students to Austin ISD. During that time only white families resided in the Eanes school district. Brewton Springs School was an all white school with a 97% white/caucasian student population.

(Ref: Eanes: Portrait of a Community, Linda Vance, 1986)
(Ref: Eanes: A History of the School and Community, Linda Vance, 1976)


1936 is when the school district began making plans to tear down and rebuild the then-current Brewton Springs School building. Meetings were held with the Superintendent of Travis County Public Schools.

In 1937 the school was torn down and rebuilt on John Teague’s property located on FM 2244 (Bee Cave Road) near Cuernavaca Drive by Patterson Road near Patterson Ranch. Homer Teague moved into the old schoolhouse afterwards. The other old schoolhouse remained as a private residence. While the school was being moved, classes were held in Watson Springs Baptist Church. Watson Springs Baptist Church was a single-room frame church. The church was also nicknamed “Snuff Box Church” because members of the congregation used to spit tobacco juice out of the window during services.


In 1948, Brewton Springs School began attempting to merge and consolidate into Eanes School District #48. Some Brewton Springs School students began attending the Eanes School. Eanes School District then operated both Eanes School and Brewton Springs School.

In 1949, both Brewton Springs School and its school district were consolidated into Eanes ISD under Gilmer-Aiken Law. Gilmer-Aiken Law consolidated many rural school districts, including Brewton Springs & Bee Cave, had reformed many Texas public schools. Eanes School students who wanted to continue their education past 7th grade either went to Brewton Springs School or to Allan Junior High School and Austin High School in Austin Public Schools (now Austin ISD). However Brewton Springs School continued to operate under Eanes ISD until 1950.

1950 was the year the Travis County Schools Superintendent and State of Texas closed down Brewton Springs School and its school district during the 1950-1951 school year. The school district itself was consolidated and abolished during the same year. Brewton Springs School students were merged with Eanes School and to Bee Cave School. Brewton Springs School students were merged to both Cox Springs School, Dripping Springs School, and Lago Vista School as well. Brewton Springs School shut down due to lack of enrollment.

In 1950, Brewton Springs School was shut down by the State of Texas due to Gilmer-Aiken Law after Bill No. 116 of the 50th legislature was passed. After Brewton Springs School shut down, its students were transferred to Eanes School. Eanes School then had 80 students. A third room to the two-room rock building of Eanes School was constructed in the same year to relieve overcrowding. Classes were now held at the Eanes School.  Eanes ISD would continue busing its high school students to Austin ISD until 1967.

In 1950, Homer Teague and his two sons, Robert Teague and Jackson Teague, lived in the building under rough conditions. They would live their until they moved. In 1960, the building was abandoned on the Teague Land next to Commons Ford Ranch.

It is unknown and unclear whether or not anyone else besides the Teague family lived in the original Brewton Springs School building after consolidation with Eanes ISD whereas the other school building became a private residence.

In 1958, an election was held to change the status of the school from a common school district to independent.  Eanes ISD chose to continue busing its middle school students and high school students to Austin ISD. (Ref: EISD Monthly Newsletter, Eanes School 50 Years Ago, April 1984)


In 1967, Austin ISD informed Eanes ISD that it could no longer continue to accept the middle school students and high school students. Their schools were full and space was needed for Austin ISD students. Eanes ISD was given the choice of either giving up its independent school district status and joining AISD or building its own facilities.

If Eanes had combined with AISD, it would have been forced to integrate its school.  However, if the school chose to remain independent, it would only be required to integrate students within its district, and during that time only white families resided in the Eanes school district.  The Westlake community chose to build its own schools.

(Ref: The Westlake Picayune, Austin Crowding Greatly Expanded Eanes Independent School District, March 2, 1979)

In 1985, Robert Teague gained ownership of the property from a handwritten gift deed produced in 1942 by the wife of Homer Teague.

In 1988, the (old) 5th Brewton Springs School building was moved to the Commons Ford Metropolitan Park in the Cuernavaca neighborhood by Robert Teague. Robert Teague donated Brewton Springs School to the City of Austin as an attempt of historic preservation. No known further work or renovations were done or made to the old Brewton Springs School building after 1988.

By 1990, the former school building fell victim to rural decay. Its windows were boarded up with plywood. No use was made.

Today the 5th Brewton Springs School building sits at the entrance of Commons Ford Metropolitan Park. Its windows are boarded up with plywood. A chimney was added to the building as an extra. It is highly possible that Homer Teague built the chimney.


Brewton Springs School was located near FM 2244 & Cuernavaca Drive, Austin, Texas, US 78733. The old Brewton Springs School is now located at 614 North Commons Ford Road, Austin, Texas US 78733.

Wednesday, July 25, 2018

Old Montopolis School is now facing demolition.

After Austin City Council was unable to agree to a purchase price for the site of the former Montopolis Negro School, Austin City Council will move forward with plans to take it through eminent domain proceedings even after months of negotiation as of July 2018. Austin City Council approved a measure to pursue eminent domain proceedings after being unable to agree on a purchase price as reported by Austin Monitor, Houston Chronicle, and the Austin Statesman.

Planning commissioners voted to deny a rezoning application for the former Montopolis Negro School property. Austin City Council is going to be seizing the site of the old Montopolis Negro School.

Property owner Austin Stowell has applied for the property to be rezoned from single family to community commercial with historic zoning granted for the school structure. Austin Stowell has already expressed dissatisfaction with the city's handling of the situation. The city has proposed paying $362,000 for the 0.85-acre tract of land.

The case has drawn controversy throughout the city of Austin, especially towards property owner Austin Stowell and historian Fred McGhee. This was also in large part thanks to the strong opposition of community members. Austin Stowell is aware of the historical significance of the school itself. However the historical significance of this property will not cease any demolition. More could have been done or implemented to save this property.

In any case, it will be a sad day for Austin, Texas when the Montopolis School is demolished. Many Montopolis residents have a sentimental attachment to this school and church.

Friday, July 20, 2018

Old Montopolis School now facing demolition.

Unable to agree to a purchase price for the site of the former Montopolis Negro School, Austin will move forward with plans to take it through eminent domain proceedings even after months of negotiation as of July 2018. Austin City Council approved a measure to pursue eminent domain proceedings after being unable to agree on a purchase price as reported by Austin Monitor, Houston Chronicle, and the Austin Statesman.

Planning commissioners voted to deny a rezoning application for the former Montopolis Negro School property. Austin City Council is going to be seizing the site of the old Montopolis Negro School.

Property owner Austin Stowell has applied for the property to be rezoned from single family to community commercial with historic zoning granted for the school structure. Austin Stowell has already expressed dissatisfaction with the city's handling of the situation. The city has proposed paying $362,000 for the 0.85-acre tract of land.

The case has drawn controversy throughout the city of Austin, especially towards property owner Austin Stowell and historian Fred McGhee. This was also in large part thanks to the strong opposition of community members. Austin Stowell is aware of the historical significance of the school itself. However the historical significance of this property will not cease any demolition.

Thursday, July 19, 2018

An inside look at the forgotten history of the Manchaca Negro School.

Manchaca Negro School is one of the many forgotten negro schools of Austin and Travis County from the segregation era prior to racial integration in public schools in not just in Texas, but across America. In fact, Manchaca Negro School is one of the many forgotten schools Austin and Travis County.

Manchaca Negro School served the Manchaca community for over 80 years operating from 1873 to 1958 serving African American students living in Manchaca, Texas. The Manchaca School District and Travis County Public Schools (aka Travis County Common School District operated this negro school.


Manchaca Negro School was a one-room school building built out of cedar wood in 1873 during the 1872-1873 school term. The school would open in late 1873 serving African American students in Manchaca, Texas. Manchaca Negro School only went to the 7th grade. After 7th grade students dropped out of school to work in farms or continued school in Austin.

Manchaca School District deeded the land to Travis County on June 6, 1894. Travis County took control of said property that summer.

Mr. W. S. Groves served as teacher and principal for Manchaca Negro School in 1898. His wife Mrs. W. S. Grove served as a teacher here as well. (Ref: Texas School Journal, Volumes 16-17, 1898)

Adjacent to the site of this school was a Baptist church called St. Eli Baptist Church. This church served African Americans of Manchaca for over 80 years. Today St. Eli Baptist Church is long gone and is no longer extant. (Ref: I’m Proud to Know What I Know”: Oral Narratives of Life in Travis and Hays Counties, Texas, c. 1920s-1960s, Maria Franklin)


In the 1920s, Manchaca Negro School was renamed to Manchaca Colored School. This name would stay with this negro school for over 10 years. Manchaca Colored School would be renamed to its original name of Manchaca Negro School in 1942.

Manchaca Negro School had 40 students with an average daily attendance of 30 students during the 1934-1935 school year. There were 2 teachers for the 40 students on a 2:40 ratio. The cost per year was $1,360 with an average of $46.33 per student per year. The teachers taught students at this school for a period of 155 days and got paid for 8 months. Manchaca Negro School taught grades 1-7.

Manchaca Negro School closed down in 1958 down due to the 1954 court ruling of Brown vs the Board of Education ruling racial segregation in public schools unconstitutional. Once Manchaca Negro School closed down, Manchaca students had to take the bus to Buda to attend Antioch School, thus putting an end to Manchaca Negro School.

Manchaca School District abandoned the Manchaca Negro School in 1958. The building was left abandoned from 1958 to 1960. 1960 is when the Manchaca Negro School was demolished by the City of Manchaca. The property would remain vacant for over 20 years. (Ref: Travis County topographical map of 1960 online at NETR Historic Aerials)

Willa Hargis owned the land in 1961. The vacant land was deeded to Otis Hargis and Naomi Hargis on the date of July 24, 1968. Through out most of the late 20th century, this land remained vacant thereout.


Texas Tree Service purchased the land from Otis Hargis in 2011. The land was used as storage for their machinery and vehicles. Tree logs and various debris from plants that were cut down were stored on this property.

In 2016, Slow Pokes Brisket Shack purchased the property from Texas Tree Service and
The Manchaca Onion Creek Historical Association dedicated a plaque to commemorate Manchaca Negro School in September 2016. Its plaque is located on the property of Slow Pokes Brisket Shack. (Ref: Manchaca Onion Creek Historical Association)

Today as of July 2018, Slow Pokes Brisket Shack stands on the property and site of the former Manchaca Negro School. (Ref: Manchaca Onion Creek Historical Association)


Manchaca Negro School was located 737 FM 1626, Manchaca, Texas, US 78652.

Wednesday, May 23, 2018

Isolated history of Our Lady of the Cape Catholic Church in Nunavut, Canada explained.

In 2002, a new church building for Our Lady of the Cape Catholic Church was built on the same site of the existing church building right after it had been demolished. The church was finally opened in October 2002 after construction was completed. In 2005, another small building served as an annex for the church east of the main building. The annex building for this church serves as an office building.

Our Lady of the Cape Catholic Church is located at 102 Sivulliq Avenue, Rankin Inlet, Nunavat, Canada. The physical address is 102 Sivulliq Avenue, Rankin Inlet, NU X0C 0G0, Canada.

Saturday, May 19, 2018

St. Louis Church in Fond du Lac, Wisconsin long faded away.

St. Louis Church is one of the many forgotten churches of Wisconsin that has faded away from time. Not too many people know the whereabouts on the St. Louis Church in Fond du Lac, Wisconsin. This news article will explain the history of St. Louis Church. This news article will also explain how too many renovations, modifications, remodels, and additions can effect the historical integrity of buildings.


St. Louis Church has had a long history in Fond du Lac. The French speaking Catholics formed their own church congregation in 1868. However they did not own a church building but rented one instead. Church services were held using the French language instead of the English language. Holy Family Parish owned the church.

Construction began on the church building and was finished in 1871. This church is an example of Gothic Revival architecture with limestone walls, Gothic-arched openings, and two towers located upfront at the main entrance. On top of the Gothic-arched openings are tall steeple roofs. Most recognizable features are the limestone walls, gothic-arched openings, and the two massive towers. The two towers were finished later in 1891, decorated with stepped buttresses. The two towers were located upfront at the main entrance.

A school was established and constructed in 1957. The school wrapped around the east end of the original church building. Multiple changes and modifications were made to the east end of the church at that time to accommodate the addition.

Many modifications among other changes were also made to St. Louis Church over the years. For instance, the stairs in the towers received modification. Installation of aluminum framed doors were made. Certain areas had ramps installed to make the church handicap accessible.


Holy Family Parish vacated the church in August 2005 when they moved to a newly constructed facility. The buildings stood vacant for 10 months. Concerns had been raised regarding the structural integrity and the adaptability of the church building for future uses.

Excel Engineering was commissioned in June 2006 to provide architectural, historical surveying, and engineering services to address specific issues to the original church building. Surveyors found during the historical surveying that the amount of modifications made over the years hurt the historical integrity of St. Louis Church. Historical significance did not save this building due to the amount of modifications made over the years.

The building was purchased by Dave Haase, owner of Attitude Sports, in 2006. Dave Haase had the intention of turning the building into a business. However those intentions came to a halt when a fire started in the church during the remodeling process on the date of Monday, March 19, 2007. The cause of the fire was never determined. This could have been a mindless act of arson or faulty electrical wiring. Since then, both the church and school have been razed.

St. Louis Church was located in Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, US.


St. Louis Church is an example of how too many renovations, modifications, remodels, and additions can effect the historical integrity of buildings. Too many modifications what hurt the historical integrity of this particular church building. Modifications are what hurt this building. For example, this would hurt the building’s chance of being eligible to be register on the National Register of Historic Places or meet NRPH requirements and guidelines.

Modifications are what also hurt structural integrity from a historic point of view. Modifications to buildings over 100 years old are not necessarily the brightest idea due to aging and safety. Aging and safety are key issues of structural integrity. Historical significance did not save this building due to the amount of modifications made over the years.

Historic architecture of All Saints in Sioux Falls, South Dakota shared.

All Saints was built in 1884. All Saints was built using wood and stone. These wooden structures that were several stories tall are Victorian buildings. The main building was built by Edward Coughran in 1884. The beauty of the place was incredible. At one point All Saints contained 373 buildings on over 700 acres of land. All Saints was also known as the Edward Coughran House located on 111 West 17th Street in Sioux Falls, South Dakota.

All Saints was a school known as All Saints School that operated as a private school for Christians that was a very religious school. The beauty of the place was incredible even in the state it was. The lawns were mowed were the city. However overtime the historic structures were torn down in place of new ones.

All Saints is now is listed on the National Register of Historic Places as #84003349.

All Saints is located at 111 West 17th Street, Sioux Falls, South Dakota, US 57104.